JENNET: now she wants the children

JENNET: now she wants the children

Regular price
Sale price

Listen on iOS, Android and Web with Authors Direct | How?


A dual-timeline historical novel, Jennet moves between 1930s Yorkshire and the present day, following the residents of Thores-Cross, a remote moorland village, in their fight for survival against a vengeful spirit. Jennet will not stop until she has what she wants – life for her children. Jennet is perfect for fans of Nicola Cornick, Barbara Erskine, Susanna Kearsley and Pamela Hartshorne.

"I love your books!" - Rowan Coleman aka Bella Ellis, author of The Girl at the Window and The Vanished Bride


1936 – Ma Ramsgill is happy. After the losses of the Great War and its aftermath, she has a family again. Her son, John, is healthy and the image of his father, Jack; Maggie is asleep in her pram; and she’s sure a third will soon join her brood. Then her idyll is shattered by a ferocious animal attack, and she finally realises that the old tales have truth to them.

Something – someone – stalks these moors; someone long dead, someone with a grudge against her family. Jennet. Ma will not let her take any more Ramsgills.

Present Day – Yorkshire is in the grip of a heatwave, and Thruscross Reservoir has dried up to reveal the remains of the drowned village of Thores-Cross beneath.

Playing in the mud which coats the valley floor, four-year-old Clare Wainwright finds an old inkpot, and can’t wait to show it to her best friend, Louise. But when Louise’s mother, Emma, sees it, her reaction is shocking, and both families are plunged into their worst nightmares.

Emma knows what the inkpot portends:

Jennet has woken.

Now she wants the children.


Author: Karen Perkins
Narrator: Karen Perkins
Publisher: LionheART Publishing House
Run time: 5 hours 20 minutes
Release Date: 07/09/2019