The Revolt of the Star Men

The Revolt of the Star Men

Regular price
Sale price

Listen on iOS, Android and Web with Authors Direct | How?


Book Summary: giant intelligent insects from Mars.

Sci Fi Categories: Aliens and Monsters, Space Adventure, Violence, Robots

Book Description: The creatures that people this exciting story of Mr. Gallun, may seem at first blush to be impossible monstrosities. Yet, on consideration, we must realize that they are not so far-fetched. Even in our picayune little corner of the universe, we find in the insect kingdom a form of life that has survived through every possible earth catastrophe in the last 40,000,000 years. With their skeletons on the outside of their bodies instead of on the inside, insects are able to protect their bodies from heat, cold, and from accidents that would kill us. If the insect's shell were harder and thicker and made of heat-resisting material, it might conceivably be able to live in space without other protection. The point is that Mr. Gallun makes his Space Men so convincing that we can do nothing but believe in them. And he has woven about them such a thrilling story of adventure on two worlds that one will have to read and reread it, to get from it the fullest enjoyment.

Authors Bio: Raymond Gallun wrote his first two stories, "The Space Dwellers" and "The Crystal Ray" (both published in 1929), at age 16. He was among the stalwart group of early sci-fi pulp writers who popularized the genre. He sold many popular stories to pulp magazines in the 1930s. "Old Faithful" (1934) was his first noted story. "The Gentle Brain" was published in "Science Fiction Quarterly" under the pseudonym Arthur Allport. Gallun was honored with the I-CON Lifetime Achievement Award in 1985 at I-CON IV; the award was later renamed The Raymond Z. Gallun Award. His pen names include Dow Elstar, E.V. Raymond, William Callahan, and Arthur Allport.

Narrators Rating (8 out of 10): ★★★★★★★★☆☆



Author: Raymond Gallun
Narrator: Brian K Fitzgibbon
Publisher: Giobuin Publishing
Run time: 3 hours 0 minutes
Release Date: 10/26/2021